I’ve been doing a lot of SCVMM and Virtual Server “stuff” lately at my current client’s site and I’d like to share some of my findings…..

– Remember my post on the IBM physical host p2v problems with SCVMM? well it seems older versions of the IBM Server Guide CD creates and formats partitions with a disk config of 512/512 sectors per cluster. The newer versions of the Server Guide CD dont seem to call this problem they are formatted correctly 512/4096

– Seems the P2V feature is working very well for us, we’ve successfully p2v’d 7 physical servers to Virtual Server using SCVMM

– I’ve found and through consultation with Microsoft that setting NO pagefile in the VM and on the host definately stops paging (obviously) and makes the VM’s that I’ve tested perform just that little bit quicker, give it a shot! Just remember, you don’t want a VM to run out of memory so make sure your settings are correct and I’d recommend leaving 500mb unallocated to VM’s on a host to leave enough memory for the host to do whatever normal tasks it does like AV, Backup etc.

I’ve successfully proved the following works;

VM Guest – ClusterNode 1 on Host 1 – Quorum/Shared drive using iSCSI

VM Guest – ClusterNode 2 on Host 2 – Quorum/Shared drive using iSCSI

– Moved ClusterNode1 to Host 2 and brought the node back online and failed the cluster over to this node successfully

– Moved ClusterNode1 to Host 1 and brought the node back online and failed the cluster over to this node successfully

I’ve managed to successfully perform half of these tasks using powershell just need some time to work on the other half 🙂

